Don'T Ask,Don'T Tell

mustafabey

Lady Gaga made the news recently by getting involved in the gays in the military debate. Of course, Congress put off the vote, probably till after the election. I consider myself fairly liberal, especially concerning social issues. I am also a veteran of the United States Marine Corps and the Vietnam conflict. My military was straight, circa 1965 and if you were found to be gay you were forced out of the service. I saw a few guys literally disappear during my enlistments. Today things are different, I reckon and maybe gays want to serve our country' The general being considered for the next commandant of the Marine Corps said his peace about the issue. He has reservations and doesn't think, given the special nature of the Marine Corps that it would work. I have to stand with Gen. Amos on this issue. I find it hard to accept gays in the Marines. This maybe latent homophobia working or some good old Marine Corps brainwashing still in my mind. I'm not particularly homophobic. I've had gay friends and co workers and never had a problem with that. I just see it as disruptive in the military. Am i being old fashioned, prejudiced or too rigid. I'd like to hear what you'all think regarding this matter.

Never having been in the military, it's a weird one for me, so take my opinion as more Middle America sort of angle. I have a lot of "on the other hand" things going on about this, and it's been the topic of discussion at my Lodge recently. What the general consensus came to is:

1) Anyone who chooses to serve their country should be allowed to do so and sexual preferences shouldn't determine their ability to do so. We're asking them to risk their lives so basing their service on who they sleep with just doesn't seem right.