Tiny Technical Connundrum With My Dads Laptop... Actually Its My First Time Seeing This Lol

Bawhee

Even uncle google isnt helpful.
So basically, my dads laptop worked just fine till this morning, when he put it to sleep mode, all was ok etc. when he got back to it the screen wasnt working, randomly it would show desktop for approx. half a second, so I figured theres a connection issue with the screen, prolly no biggie... but then dad says that its been shutting itself down consequently, he was just turning it on all the time to see if it got better...

Somehow on one of his attempts as I was googling he got into startup repair, found error 0x490 according to my dad, however it couldnt fix it and shut back down.

so right now I have a machine that is starting up but loops right back into startup, I cant get into safe mode cause there is no video output at all, with occasional flashes at some point I seemed to get into safe mode (Spammed f8 into the black screen after pushing the power button) got a glimpse of the pick safemode and other options screen, so I pressed enter since it was at go into safemode by default anyways... got windows startup sound atfer a while, short glimpse of desktop, glimpse of windows shutting down screen and back to off.

So Im thinking probably a hardware thing, but the system restore worked with the screen fully functional, showing the progress bar and all, mouse working and shit. (as it was doing its check I left for a while and when I got back it had finished and dad turned it off already).

So yeah, Im at a loss.

Sounds like something is failing in the POST test or the processor is over heating or the hard drive is gone.

Usually taking out the RAM and reseating it is the common issue. 

Open the laptop so you can see the board and power it on, if the fan over the Processor doesn't kick on, processor maybe gone but could be possibly good just replace the fan over the processor.

Thrown in another hard drive and see if it boots.