Shisha Mixing

Herbs

Hey Everybody,

This is my first post on this forum. (Party time, right?) I'm currently studying abroad in Granada, Spain and recently took a trip to Morocco where I bought my first hookah. Its not the highest quality in the world, but for me the important thing is that it works, has a green color scheme, and oh yeah... it rotates (probably not that impressive to those of you who have been around the block).

Anyway, my question:
I'm a do it yourself kind of guy, and I like to cook. Naturally, I want to make my own shisha. My first batch will be apple: the flavor which is my host mother's favorite. I looked up some recipes, no problem. My problem came in when I tried to buy the ingredients. I can't find a single place in Granada that sells Vegetable Glycerin. Thusly, I have a few questions:

1. Are glycerin and glycerol the same thing? The Wikipedia says so, and I'm inclined to believe it.
2. Can you make shisha without glycerin? The recipes I found says Glycerin helps to slow and evenly burn the tobacco and fruit. Are there alternatives?
3. Is it a bad idea to use normal glycerin i.e. that which is made from biodiesel byproducts?
4. Does anyone know where one would go about acquiring vegetable glycerin whether in Spain or in the states?

Thanks in advance.

• 2 months later...
[quote name='Herbs' date='04 November 2009 - 03:55 PM' timestamp='1257368155' post='424587']
Hey Everybody,

This is my first post on this forum. (Party time, right?) I'm currently studying abroad in Granada, Spain and recently took a trip to Morocco where I bought my first hookah. Its not the highest quality in the world, but for me the important thing is that it works, has a green color scheme, and oh yeah... it rotates (probably not that impressive to those of you who have been around the block).

Anyway, my question: