Cigarette Mail Ban Law

Zeaken

I dont know how big this is on a national level but obama is looking to pass on a ban onto the senecas in western new york. Basically he is going to force the senecas to pay taxes like everyone else in ny (i tried to keep that as unbiased as possible)

article: [url="http://www.buffalonews.com/2010/03/17/990680/house-vote-sends-cigarette-mailing.html?page=2#comment"]http://www.buffalonews.com/2010/03/17/990680/house-vote-sends-cigarette-mailing.html?page=2#comment[/url]

Now i am a resident of WNY, I obviously suffer from the repercussions of lost state revanue. That said i think this law is garbage. We gave them the right to sell tobacco with no tax in a treaty and we should honor it. its breaking another treaty with these guys which is just unfair. I dont even buy anything from the res simply because its out of my way and last time i checked they dont sell shisha.

The only argument i have heard is "well kids are getting cigarettes". I dont even want to get started on my tirade about how i feel about the fcc and parenting. That said in short summary is parents can watch there own kids. Our government and my tax dollars are not your kids babysitter.

please comment your opinions ^_^

I totally agree...kids have a million ways to get what they want. If they want cigs they will get them. if they want booze they will get it. If they want NHT or other things they will find a way to get it. The best prevention method isnt legislation but parents keeping a better eye on their kids

I think the gov has more pressing issues to attend to... Like, uh, perhaps stabilizing the ECONOMY?!