Buying Foreclosed Homes.....

Tyler

So, I'm finding a bunch of homes in Tallahassee that are really cheap because they've been foreclosed on. I was just wondering if among this forum we have any real estate gurus? Are there any major hangups on buying such homes? If the home itself is in good shape, are there any financial backlashings to be prepaired for?

disclaimer I am not an expert at all but am in the process of buying one right now. Price negotiation seems minimal to none. The property will be as-is (I have seen some major shitholes, I can't believe people live like that, those ppl deserve not to have a house). Also for some reason I can't add my closing costs (seem higher than normal) to the loan.

Well I think most of you know I am a Realtor ®. Buying forclosures is the only way to buy a house in todays market.
Do's and Don'ts:

DO!
1-Get qualified for a loan with a major bank BEFORE starting to look for a house (this will tell you what houses you qualify for)
2-Work with a reputable Realtor (hopefully one who works mostly with Buyers) PM me I have a lot of Realtor friends around the US I can reccomend
3-Your research on the Neighborhood and the number of other homes that might be in foreclosure.

Dont!
1- Listen to the HYPE from the media, family, or your friends.. Find someone who buys and sells homes EVERYday and ask them (each market is different)

2- think your going to buy a home for pennies. Its true homes are cheaper now. Banks do not want to hold on to foreclosed homes for a long time. But they are not stupid. They know what homes are worth. They will sell at a discount, usually 10-20% below market value to sell the home fast. But they will not sell homes for 50-60% or more below the value, like maany people would have you believe.