No Smoke Coming Out =(

Hey everyone,

I've been smoking hookah for a couple years now, but only in lounges and occasionally when someone else used theirs and set it up for my friends and I. I recently moved, however, and there isn't a hookah bar for miles around, so I ordered my own. I feel like I'm knowledgeable in how it works since I've been smoking for a while, but I set up my new hookah and... I'm not getting any smoke!

The stem's submerged in about an inch of water in the base and sealed to the base with a gasket. The air release valve has the ball bearing inside and there's only a tiny amount of air flow through it when I inhale, and a normal amount when I exhale (seems like this is working fine). The bowl and gasket fit decently and fairly snugly on the stem. I packed the bowl loosely, and the level of shisha doesn't quite reach the screen. I tested to make sure that air flows from the top of the hookah through the hose. The hose connection has a gasket and is completely airtight. The screen doesn't fit very well and has large holes (not desirable, but until I go grab some foil I felt like it should serve the purpose decently). I broke off a coal from the tab, lit it (it takes FOREVER to light this kind of coal... pretty fucking annoying sleep.gif) and placed it on top of the screen. Seems like everything's ready? I tried it, and no smoke flowed through the hose.

I searched many forums and basic FAQs for any advice, checked every gasket and sealed them off tightly. I packed and re-packed my bowl a few times. I tried more coals, less coals... nothing seemed to work.

For your reference, I ordered this particular pipe: http://www.hookahcompany.com/sangria_red_genie_1931_prd1.htm
...and this brand of coals: http://www.hookahcompany.com/flame_silver_...s_2573_prd1.htm