Stainless Steel Vs Brass

Brass is usually much more expensive. Everyone brass one I found and loved I wwanted then I saw the price and frowned. I am a poor working college student, I can only afford to waste money on good ma'assal! lol

Stainless Steel is superior to brass. Stainless steel hookahs would be more expensive than brass hookahs, its a harder metal, harder to work and solder. The hookahs you guys see are NOT stainless steel. They are coated or galvanized steel, predominantly. Stainless steel is homogeneous, if you file it, its the same metal under. Whether its a brass core (with silver color on the outside) or a coated steel pipe, the silverish coating on the outside is the same.

The new Kimo Egyptian pipes have gone the way of the Turkish pipes...uncoated steel; start rusting immediately. Styled nicely...since they don't have to invest in niceties like rust proof coating...I would avoid them.

So, now the real question should be "Which is better: brass or steel?" I would have to go with brass. They didn't start turning away from brass UNTIL the price of brass started going up...to keep prices reasonable they had to switch to a cheaper metal. Of course, if it was comparable in quality, why didn't they switch BEFORE the price of brass started going up? The only answer is that steel hookahs are inferior to brass ones.

True dat.

My KM shaft is so light compared to my brass-only Syrian... can't compare it to the other Syrian since that one has loads of yummy marble on it...

I am always worried about breaking the KM stem... I know I won't, but................ blink.gif

QUOTE (Derelict @ Jan 26 2008, 02:02 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Aren't MZ "true" stainless steel?