Coconara bad taste?

Just as some background I've never used coconara before and have also never used a non-quicklight coal. Now that we have that out of the way, I got a package of 20 coconara coals with my recent MYA Bambino purchase and just bought the Walgreen's coil burner tonight all excited to fire it up. I put the burner on high (after running the burner hours earlier for about 10 minutes to burn the whatnot off of it) and dropped two coconara coals on. What happened next I can only describe as a dirty trash burning campfire with roid-rage that stunk up the whole house and gave my wife a headache. Strike one against the coconara... Then after a solid 10+ minutes on the burner and being fully glowing red and lit I put them on my new Sahara Vortex bowl. The first few pulls were pretty thin and whispy, which is to be expected of a fresh coal before the shisha gets nice and warm and smoky, but the whole first half of the bowl gave me pretty weak smoke with the same trash-fire-headache aroma/taste as when the coals were lighting as well but quite a bit of brown sugary ash. At this point I lit one of my 3 year old 3 Kings and immediately got exponentially better smoke. What's the deal? I thought coconaras were supposed to be the "end-all gold-standard" of hookah coals, but my one 3 Kings put two coconaras to shame, smoked them as it were... Sent from my XT1058 using Tapatalk

that really depends, coconaras are a much different beast then quick lights. what is your packing like? where were the coals placed? give us as much info as possible and hopefully we can figure it out. the smell thing kind of makes me wary that you got fakes because the coconara smell has never been anywhere near as bad as quick lights to me. Doing this in a well ventilated area is a must though.