Leaving for college

Well, here I am. I leave for Arizona State in 3 days from right now. Litterally, every aspect of my life is going to be different than it is currently. If that isnt some scary shit... someone tell me what is.Im a freshman staying in Sahuaro(an upperclassman dorm with single occupancy rooms ), enrolled as a business student. My long term goal really though, is to move onto law school after I graduate with my undergrad degree. Im taking 17 credit hours my first semester, while living on campus as a full time student and not working.I got good grades in highschool when I was actually concerned with the consequences of my own apathy (which means I was a dumbass my freshman year). Took all the honors and AP classes I could, and graduated from a competetive magnet school in Vegas while spending an average of 35-50 hours per week afterschool in the theater (It is a performing arts highscool - I was a tech theater major). I've worked the past several months for a District Assembly campaign as the assistant Campaign manager (and briefly for the NV state democratic party), managing a staff of 3 full time canvassers and balancing funds/events. I made about 40k a year doing it, which for an 18 year old isnt too bad. I know that I *can* be successful as long as I maintain my drive and work ethic. HOWEVER. Every single kid (with a few exceptions) that I know who left last school year for college, returned unsuccessful. Many of them were AP/Honor students such as myself, with higher test scores and better GPA's. Frankly to me, that is terrifying. Of course some people simply arent cut out for college; but these students were as successful if not more so than I am accademically. Im not a drinker, im not a partier. Most people say that the aforementioned vices are the reasons for people dropping out, though the majority of the kids I am speaking about were not either. Perhaps it is the newly aquired "freedom" that is granted to them. I suppose in that regard I h