I was at the local armenian market yesterday to stock up on 3kings. A few members of the forum have been urging me to try out naturals, and I saw these "Baroody Wood Coals." It was 5 bucks for a kilo bag, so I bought them. I came home and looked around on the forums, but only found one semi-informative post about them. I haven't used them yet, but I will in the next hour or so. They seem pretty high quality, very dense. As well, they are a helpful sort of triangular shape, rather than being round. That seems like it would be very nice for stability.

Anyways, anyone else used these? Other experiences?

BTW, I picked up some nakhla Double Apple too, something I've never tried before... Should be an experience biggrin.gif

Ok, here we go.

THis was my first time using natural coals. NEVER GOING BACK. These things are great, I just put them on my stove for 5 minutes, and they have burned for an hour and have easily that much time left in them. I would keep going, but I have to go do some stuff. I set it up with layalina watermelon and they were great. 2 1 and a half inch pieces, and it was perfect. The ash didnt come off unless I scraped it, which was nice. They gave me the perfect amouint of heat, I got much better clouds with them than with quicklights. I REALLY reccomend these. Once again, NEVER GOING BACK.

BTW, I got them at a little armenian market like 40 feet from Arax, in Watertown MA for 4.99

i hear all these raves about naturual coals, but i can't really use them. i live in the dorm, where there is no stove available, and i don't feel like buying a stove from HS. I like my 40mm self lights from HS am I being very niave? or is somebody with me on this one?

QUOTE (Bushbr @ Oct 27 2007, 05:27 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>