Effects Of Vase Size?

Teleute

So I am in the middle of replacing the vase on my hookah-shisha Abyss hookah with this 1 gallon jar and was wondering what the effects of having more air space and more water are. I would imagine the smoke would be denser due to the air space and more filtered due to the water, but I have little experience with these things. Edited by Teleute

The more water the smoke has to travel through (so it's largely how far the downstem is submerged), the harder the pull will be. The more water you have, the more effective it will be at filtering, since it will not be saturated with any contaminants. However, I've never heard of the water becoming an ineffective filter during a session, so I don't expect you'll see any major differences.

I like a lot of water in my hookah. I fill it right up to the point where water will almost get in the hose; it will if I let all the ice melt. I find it helps a bit with the taste, but mainly with keeping it cold.

With mine, i only put the water usually 3/4 inch up the stem or so, never more than an inch... i like it to pull easy, and it cools the smoke just fine, but I always use ice Edited by The King

Yeah, I find my chest hurts the next morning from sucking so hard to get decent smoke if I put the water more than an inch or so up the stem.

What about having more space for the smoke? The water I can pretty easily regulate with the tap on the vase, so if the draw is too hard, I can lower the water level. However, would more space for smoke make the smoke go stale easier or would the smoke be thicker as more is sucked out? This it the part that interests me the most.

QUOTE (Teleute @ May 12 2007, 06:17 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>