Boro Glass Stem Hookah

Jimbo64

Howdy,

A project I've been working on for a little while now, is a glass stemmed hookah. This uses a 1/2 inch diameter piece of heavy wall boroscilicate (pyrex type) glass tube. The tube the hose attaches to is glass as well.

These are attached to a turned billet aluminum base, and fits in a standard hookah vase.

Its a dream to smoke thru....

[img]http://www.swansonkites.com/pictures/hookah/hookah01.jpg[/img]

[img]http://www.swansonkites.com/pictures/hookah/hookah02.jpg[/img]

Comments are welcome :)

P.S. You will be able to buy these at a future date.

Jimbo-

I have a boner. In fact, I'm pretty sure I will need to see a doctor in about 4 hours when it hasn't gone down.

Seriously, I love the glass tubes and as a mechanical engineer, I love the aluminum base even more. Very well done.

Hello,

The glass is epoxied into the aluminum. The epoxy is designed to break down at around 300 degrees F, so if you break a stem, it can be replaced. I've tried other means, but I like this method best.

As for it being "Fragile", well it is glass, but being borosilicate (Like Pyrex) its extremely tough stuff.

I'm currently working on fittings that allow the use of standard hoses as well as my own hose design. My hose is a smooth bore FDA grade silicone, and easy as heck to clean. The smooth bore makes it draw really nice :)

As for a purge valve, yes they will have them on the single hose model.

I'll post more pictures soon.

Jim-

This is quite beautiful I love the way you can see the smoke traveling the tubes. i would love to use glass. Can you heat and bend the glass for different designs? Have you tried incorporating an LED to make it glow?

• 5 months later...
[quote name='williscal36' timestamp='1284098895' post='481792']
Is there anywhere like home depot or a similar hardware store that would carry glass tubing like that?
[/quote]