Question About The Ball Bearing

in hookah bars i've been to i notice that on one hose hookah's there's no cap over the part with the ball bearing. I am new to hookah smoking and am wondering if that end on my newly purchased hookah needs to be covered with tape or something ghetto

Um, if there was no cap then the ball bearing wouldn't stay in and thus not making the hookah airtight and then it wouldn't smoke very good... so if it's just an open to the air port, then yes, but something over it. Got a pic incause I just read that wrong?

QUOTE (DizzyGuy @ Mar 21 2007, 06:58 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I still don't get it... there is a hole in a stem with a ball bearing in it... but if you blow through *purge* the base, does the ball fly out or what?

well i dont know I havent used it yet...my package arrived from HC yesterday WITHOUT MY HOSE *shrug*
and I wont be able to use it until this weekend hopefully

I'm not entirely sure I understand what you mean here, but the hookah should be air tight when you inhale, with the only air coming in at the head. Now, at the hookah bars, can you blow back into the hookah? if not, complain, the hookah is missing the blow back valve that allows you to blow back into the hookah to blow out the stale smoke. If you can not blow back in your hookah...do you have a blow back valve (ball bearing)?

QUOTE (VDDZ @ Mar 21 2007, 07:03 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I'm not entirely sure I understand what you mean here, but the hookah should be air tight when you inhale, with the only air coming in at the head. Now, at the hookah bars, can you blow back into the hookah? if not, complain, the hookah is missing the blow back valve that allows you to blow back into the hookah to blow out the stale smoke. If you can not blow back in your hookah...do you have a blow back valve (ball bearing)?