hookah ban....jail time...check this out

Meh, it just means the sale of hookahs, because they are considered drug paraphanalia right? So everyone will just have to buy their supplies online and smoke in the privacy of their own home (if this bogus law makes it). Looks like hookah bars etc will be hurt hardest obviously, but it doesn't really mean you can't smoke using a hookah in your own home...

Sucks regardless, but I'm sure everyone should be fine smoking at their own home.

I'm not a lawyer (yet maybe?) but this is a very subjective law. And the real issue is that the law is in regards to *intent* of use, which if you can't prove that it's intended for an illegal purpose...just doesn't hold water. I'd consider leaving this place, if I was there!

As for smoking being illegal,
Let me put it this way, there's a public smoking ban going in the District of Columbia, but they are making provision that if it's related in some significant way to your business income, then it's protected.

Same way here in Oklahoma. If a certain percentage of your total income comes from the sell of tobacco, then you are protected and can have smoking in your business. But for how long though. It seems that all Im hearing about is this being illegal and this. Even in bars smoking is banned in some places. They way I see it is if you dont want to be around smoke dont go to places that have smoking ie bars, hookah lounges, cigar shops etc....

Fortunately, I live in NC, which produces much of the tobacco the world consumes. WHile we have some local ordinances about non-smoking areas in bars, *twitch*, they are never going to be able to mess with somthing so many people make a living from.

Heck, as of a few years ago, there was still a MALL in tenn. that allowed smoking.

[quote name='shyshishaguy']Im not sure if this should be in the serious discusion board or here on the general, but I though ALL should red this.   www.local6.com/spotlight/10052351/detail.html