Official Smoking in a College Dorm thread

Ok, now I know similar threads have circulated around for a long time. I searched and came up with a few, but they are largely scattered and inside of other threads. I wanted to consolidate and create an "official" thread of this sort. As we all know the predominant demographic of hookah smokers are college kids; I figured this would be good information.I am a freshman this year at Arizona State living in a dorm with no room mate in a three story building. It has very thin walls and a vent on the door approx 10" x 20" which is slated so that one cant see through it, but it still allows circulation. There is a sprinkler (which I assume is a heat detecting unit) and a circular cieling mounted detector (which I assume is a chemical operated unit). I have a very large window opposite the door, but it only opens by swinging inward horizontaly by about 5 inches. I dont have a fan in my room, but I am going to get one.I havent smoked in my dorm room yet at all.To succesfully pull this off, this is my plan:Obviously I need to cover the door vent with a wet towel first and foremost.Secondly, I will cover the cieling mounted smoke detector with a plastic shopping bag wrapped in duct tape on the sides. Third, just a precaution, I will cover the sprinkler as well in the same fashion.I once burned incense for about 30 minutes, and an RA knocked on my door to ask what I was doing- therefore insence isnt a good odor eliminator. I have a plug in air freshener, but it doesnt do much. Spray type air fresheners? Someone at the end of the hall burned an apple candle for a while and the entire hall smells nice from it. Perhaps I should use this?Im looking for suggestions/methods/comments from people who have succesfully smoke in their dorm room. I know many of us would be interested in the information.Thanks!

• Replies 94
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic