Water coming through the hose -why?

I'm a newbie to Hookahs/Sheeshas and this forum.I recently purchased a mini/junior hookah on a visit to Abu Dhabi (about 11inches, pumpkin base, stainless steel and part ceramic stem, quite heavy and sturdy looking with case).Anyway, I sometimes get water specks/drops coming up the hose when I suck, which I usually expel by removing the hose from the hookah mid session, and then blowing out the water -is this because I am over-filling the base with water, or is the setup not totally airtight, or is this due to something else?(really good forum btw -very 'alive')

[quote name='ZAP']I think I have the same hookah and you should reduce the amount you use.  When I use that one I only fill it about 3/4 of an inch above the stem.[/quote] I see! I will try this and will try to post a pic of my Hookah on this thread later.

It could end up being a problem you can't completely avoid. This is a common problem with very small hookahs - - if using less water doesn't help, the only other thing you can do is to be careful how hard you hit the hose. Inhale more slowly...

Had a mammoth session with my bro.Using less water did reduce the number of times this happened to me (it only happeened twice in a 90 minute+ session). I think it may partly be to do with me using ice, which melts quite quickly and perhaps increases the initial volume of water.I will try using even less water next time as I didn;t notice any adverse effects.(off topic: tried out El Baz Cola flavour, fairly dry molasses which didn't last long and was very weakly flavoured, so went back to Cherry AF which is a lot wetter and better flavoured, and continued to smoke for an hour on this stuff. Also tried the Mixed Fruit SOEX again, which I found awful again -just the smell of the molasses makes me feel sick and gives me a headache! I think I'm becoming an AF fan.)