Am I Burning The Shisha?

Hello! I am relatively new to smoking a hookah, but I believe I know the basics. I'm not sure exactly what type I have I purchased it at Earthbound, however it has a standard bowl. It's a little larger than a mini hookah but smaller than a regular hookah. I have tried two different shishas with it, Romman Double Apple & Romman Grape. Both times I didn't get much flavor if any out of them. I know it's not the brand because I have tried Romman Melon & Berry at someone elses house and the flavor was great! I pack the bowl how it's supposed to be and place the foil over and poke some holes in it so that some are under the coal and some are exposed to air. I use quicklight coals and one of these take up almost the entire bowl if placed in the middle. It also seems to be difficult to take larger hits on this smaller hookah. I'm not sure what it is I'm doing wrong and would appreciate any feedback I could get.

[quote name='MichaelLCP' timestamp='1304050046' post='507316']
So are you getting too much heat? Or not enough?
[/quote]

I think I might be getting too much and that is overpowering any taste that I'd receive

I don't know about too much ventilation but if you put too many large holes then it will almost be like your coal is directly on top of your shisha and you do not want to do that. How are you packing your bowl ?

Earthbound sells Inhale brand hookahs and I cannot tell you how much they suck. I have several friends that have them because one of my friends worked there. He got them all to buy one. Now they all sit in their closets collecting dust because they never got a good smoke out of them. So, it may be the hookah... But if the hookah is working decently, then it may be your packing or heat management. Start out reading this thread, should help you out:

http://www.hookahforum.com/topic/40373-beginners-guide-to-hookah/