best way to pack bowl?

hey all, i'm fairly new to packing my own bowls consdidering my friends always did before i got my own hookah. i tried to draw two diagrams to my best ability to see if you could tell me the best way to do it. i am afraif if i pack too much shisha it will burn and be really harsh, not to mention possibly be wasteful. the other way is packing the shisha so it doesnt touch the tinfoil. any help would be greatly appreciated and i appoligize if this topic was touched i searched for a little, bit couldnt find anything. here is my artwork!:[img]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v486/gman571/mmm.jpg[/img]i donno if i even need to draw these for you guys... it would be sweet if you could help a noob out! thanks!

well, there are several different "schools" of bowl packing.
Some folks sprinkle loose tobacco in the bowl, some people pack it in a little more. As long as you get good air flow, its purely personal.
Some folks pack it to the top. I generally leave a little room at the top for a layer of air. I also use a screen instead of foil, so the air place actully remains, where as folks who use foil and leave space will ofen end up pushing the foil down anyway when they ash or rotate their coals. Some folks pack the bowl to the top and lay the foil right on top of the tobacco...
If you liek the way it smokes when your friend packs it..ask your friend how he/she does it...
Experiment for yourself and see what works for YOU.

The way i personally pack my bowl is I try to get the maassel  to barely touch the bottom of the screen or foil.  In most cases when i'm done with the bowl and if i were to lift off the screen or  foil,  there would be a roasted "puck" in their with only a couple strands of  maassel sticking to the bottom, or sometimes no sticking at all.  If i had to give you a measurement between the tobacco and foil/screen, perhaps 1 millimeter or less.