Light Natural Coals With A Lighter?

I am sure this has been asked before but I have searched and searched and I cannot find anything about it, at least nothing clear.

I am wondering if it is possible to light natural hookah coals with a lighter rather than a stove specifically Coco Naras, as I have read that they are really good.

I am currently a college student living on campus so I have to smoke outside and do not have access to a stove, I know I can buy a small gas grill to light coals but I would prefer to have something very portable I can fit in my pocket.

I have never used natural coals before, I have always used 3 Kings and I like them but now that I am getting more interested in Hookah and have a more discerning taste I am really starting to notice the bad flavor the coals add and sometimes can only taste the charcoal rather than the shisha.

Also if a lighter does exist could someone please link to it? I have looked at some of the micro-torch lighters on hookah-shisha but I am not sure if they will light natural coals.

Any help would be appreciated, thanks in advance!

Your lighter would probably run out before you lit cocos. If I smoke out on campus, I use a propane torch to light my coals. A regular light or even a torch lighter wont work. You could try Hookah John's Quicklights, those are really good qls, and they are still coconut coals.

the only other thing that I know of other than a stove/coil burner/hot plate is a blow torch...like the ones used for welding

seems like too much effort to me, I'd stick to three kings if I were you whilst at school

I also read somewhere that it is possible to light coals in the microwave is this true? For some reason I doubt it but it's worth asking because I have a microwave at school and as long as there wasn't any smoke that would set off the alarms I could light them in the dorm and then carry it outside.

QUOTE (TheInvsbleMan @ Sep 9 2009, 11:10 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>