holes on the foil ? best layout

Hi ! i'm new here, i only have my hookah for 6 months now, and i learned a lot in this forum. I can't understand quite clearly what is the best pattern for the holes in the foil. How big? how many? exceding the area of the coal?should i fold the foil in 2? etc..
I use a fork to make a 4 x 4 pattern, but the tobacco burns in less than 25 minutes and i get a harsh taste. Can anyone give me any sugestion?
Thanks a lot for the feedback and hello to all ( as i'm new to this great forum ! )

I find fork holes to be a bit large. In fact, I am not too keen on the Mya tong spine for use in making holes, either. I use a corn holder to poke my holes and I don't feel quite right when I use anything else (if I'm away from my poker and am packing a friends, or have forgotten/lost my own temporarily).Perhaps it comes down to habit, though, because using other utensils in head preparation make little difference in smoke quality, I find. I'd emphasize the even placement of the holes over their size as it helps with a more even roast.I'm unsure if harshness and poking holes with a fork have any correlation. If you have more holes concentrated over a given area you may simply be exposing a single spot to more heat than the others, burning the tobacco in that region — thus harsh.I will post a picture of my ritual hole poking later tonight. It will forever taint your opinion of me (as a perfectionist and neat freak).

Hehe, thanks for the replys! i bought my hookah in a trip to Greece, and the guy of the shop (open air marketplace) told me that i would have to use a needle to make as much tiny holes i could. But the result was not so great, that's why i searched on the forum and found out the fork idea
Although it's much better, i still have some harshness.. but maybe it's the narguileh quality or another factor that eludes me :S
i'm doomed to harshness !