So,what Ingredients Make Up Your Quick Lite Charcoal

I've been smoking for 8 years and only use quick lighting charcoal, the "Good Stuff"(Natural coals) are too much for me to handle the mess and all. My biggest pet peeve about smoking hookah is the charcoals, and I only imagined what went into them until today I came accross this factory in China that tells all :Visit My Website
"Charcoal,coke,iron oxide,iron concentrate,metal powder, DRIED SEWAGE SLUDGE,steelwork dust,etc"
Sounds sweet

That site basically just lists things that could be used to make charcoal pieces, it doesn't say that any brands that we throw around on this site actually use the stuff.

You should also be aware that it mentions those machines are for personal home use, so it probably doesn't reflect what real manufacturers are using. But yes Hobbs Natual> QL(except for john's ql's which are coconut still and exceptionally well made).

Ya, I use John's natural QLs. I was going to switch to cocos because I heard they last longer and don't ash as bad, but then I realized cocos aren't QL. I really am glad John made some natural QLs though, I really never liked the 3K discs that much.

QUOTE (mushrat @ Apr 11 2009, 11:34 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Lets not forget the chemicals that make them light. Saltpeter among them. Essentially many of the basic ingredients of Gunpowder. Breathe deep folks.

This kind of stuff should burn off pretty quickly though- just don't put a lighter to the coal and stick it straight on and start inhaling! I always give my coals a full minute and a half or two anyway to get them red hot all over.

That being said, this thread has me thinking its time to figure out how to get some natural coals going (I got flat top stove, no coils sad.gif).