No Taste, Burnt Tobaco

Hi there, Im new, just found this forum. Seems like a realy nice place!

Im a total hookah noob. I smoked a few times in Tunisia and I really enjoyed it and i bought two Hookahs/Shishas, one bigger and one smaller. The problem is that I cannot get the good taste and the smoke that I want. It does taste alittle but it tastes mostly burnt.

I have read the New Pepole Faq and other faqs on the web, I have tried different setups but I still get a kind of burnt taste that doesnt even come near the hookah I smoked in Tunisia.

This is what I use:

Tobaco: Nakhla Tobaco - 2 apples - Probably a bit old
Coal: Golden River - Rould Quick Light 33mm bricks

What I do is take one QL and light it on the stove. Prepare the shisha by filling it up with tobaco, keeping it loosly packed. Put foil on top and make holes and the put the QL on top, to the side.

But when I start smoking I do not get a good taste, I get a few OK puffs in the begining then it just start to taste bad and the smoke is not thick at all. From what I understand you should be able to smoke for atleast 45 mins and the taste and smoke should stay nice, thick and tasty the whole time.

Sny suggestions?

If you're only using one coal, try splitting it into halves and place the halves on each side. With Nakhla in a Egyptian bowl, I usually use 2 33m quicklits on the edges.

Edit- you said the shisha may be old, which means it may be dry, try adding some honey to it to make it wetter Edited by ryno

QUOTE (ryno @ Jul 15 2008, 12:14 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
If you're only using one coal, try splitting it into halves and place the halves on each side. With Nakhla in a Egyptian bowl, I usually use 2 33m quicklits on the edges.

Edit- you said the shisha may be old, which means it may be dry, try adding some honey to it to make it wetter

Thanks for the replys. The tobaco could be old but it feals fresh, its nice soggy and jucy. I have this typ of bowl

Should I ues more than one 33mm maybe?