Newbies Most Common Mistakes

I am not sure if this has been done, if it has forgive me.
BUT

I am new to Hookahism. and I know i probably make some stupid mistakes that I don't know about.
If all you wonderful veterans out there could maybe list some mistakes new comers most often make I think it would be a great asset to the Hookah Community. Plus maybe you'll realize a few things you forgot or did not know

QUOTE (newsman @ Oct 24 2007, 04:41 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Check the pinned topics. There is a section called new people FAQs devoted to newcomers on setting up hookas, coals, etc.

i realize that, but thats not always the same thing. its one thing to have FAQ because those are things new people kinda know about. i just thought it would be an idea to list some common mistakes that new comers and veterans alike make

I see. That may be a little difficult. I think it's better to list what you should do, rather than what you shouldn't. You can also get great responses when you present a problem and people tell you how to fix it, but if you just want a list of things not to do, you'll probably get suggestions like:

1. Don't drop burning coals on your rug.
2. Don't drink the water out of your base.

Don't lick your fingers after touching a quick lite coal. The black powder on them has salt peter (potassium nitrate) that, ingested, will make it impossible for you to get an erection. Seriously, its a chemical property and is toxic in that you cant use it....

Don't take a hit from an unwashed hose.

Edit : To clarify don't take a hit from a hose without the hookah bieng started (Tobacco in the bowl and coal lit). Trust me i had a bad taste in my mouth for about an hour. Edited by Dekon

QUOTE (MechAnt @ Oct 24 2007, 03:23 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>