How Bad Is Hookah?

Hi I'm a college student that has been smoking hookah maybe three times a week for a couple hours each session with a few friends and I was just curious about the health risks. I realize that since I am smoking it is probably not the best thing, but I was hoping that someone could equate this to cigarretes or something. I've read mixed opinions online so I was just wondering what you guys know about it.

Thanks

Back when I was a frequent briar pipe smoker, I did some research. The most reputable studies I saw (profs at Johns Hopkins, the CDC, that kind of thing) said you had to smoke roughly 4-5 bowls a day to appreciably increase your risk of cancer -- most of those cases are cancer of the mouth, since a lot of pipe smokers don't inhale.

I think more people inhale hookah than inhale pipes, but the majority probably don't. So cancer of the mouth or throat is probably your biggest worry, not lung cancer. And you're not burning chemically-treated paper along with the tobacco, which is helpful. But the glycerine and other additives probably put some risk back in.

Anyhow, this is more or less the authoritative quote on the subject, in my opinion: