?'s For The Pros

I've been somking hookah for a few months. First at cafes, but I got my own mini a couple weeks ago. Nothing to brag about, but I do plan on getting a better, more serious hookah. With that said I'm looking for a couple answers to help me progress out of the "newb"-hookah-smoker phase. You detailed answers will be appreciated.

1) I hear a lot about breaking the coals in half and placing them on the side of the bowl. Should I heat the coal, then split it or split it then hit both pieces seperately?

2) Why is it important to flip the packed/covered bowl upside down for a few minutes before smoking? Does this increase air flow the same as blowing through the bottom of the bowl before placing it on the stem?

3) I've looked a little into Smiley's glass bowls. Do they increase the amount of smoke, or the flavor, or both?

4) This is more of an opinion based question. What shisha brand/flavor delivers really strong hits, as in a lot of smoke/flavor?

Peace.

QUOTE (NateE @ Apr 26 2007, 07:46 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
2) Why is it important to flip the packed/covered bowl upside down for a few minutes before smoking? Does this increase air flow the same as blowing through the bottom of the bowl before placing it on the stem?

Peace.

you probably misunderstood what someone was saying.. you dont flip the bowl upside. after you pack the bowl, you blow from the bottom to loosen up the tobacco.. this makes the shisha burn more evenly becuase there is an even airflow

Ok breaking the coal is just a matter of heat management, you don't have to break a coal especially if your getting good smoke and flavor...but if you do try breaking a coal do it before you light it.

Blowing into your bowl works just fine....i suppose some people like to tip it upside down...i would expirement.

Well glass heats the shisha efficiently, you can get good flavor and smoke out of any bowl you just have to remember your heat management.